The Mountbatten Award

The Mountbatten Award for Best Book

The Award is made to the author of the work of literature published in English during the qualifying period that, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, has contributed most significantly to public awareness of maritime issues.

Eligible work must have a maritime focus, and includes scholarly or popular non-fiction on a technical, scientific, environmental, economic, industrial, legal, administrative, social or defence-related theme, as well as works of biography, history, fiction and poetry.

The Mountbatten Maritime Award

Judging criteria

Depth of understanding of the maritime subject

Literary quality, and clarity of exposition

Accuracy of factual content

Influence on the public understanding of current maritime issues


Recent Award Winners

2016 Peter Hennessy and James Jinks
2017 Lt Cdr Reginald Cogswell RN MBE
2018 David Mearns
2019 Rachel Slade
2020 David Abulafia

The award has been presented annually since 2001.
The prize is an engraved silver Armada plate.