The Babcock International Award

The Babcock International Award for the Most Influential Use of Social and Immersive Media

The Award is made to the individual or institution that, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, has achieved through social media, video gaming or immersive media (Visual Reality and Mixed Reality) the most positive influence and stimulated the most change in the understanding or environment of any or all aspects of the maritime dimension.

Nominated work should be submitted as a valid web URL or digital file transfer.


Babcock plays a critical role in international defence

In a world of significant geopolitical instability, national security has never been more important as defence requirements become increasingly complex to deliver. Ensuring those critical services are readily available, affordable and long-lasting is a vital task. And Babcock is built for that task. Now more than ever, what we do matters.


Recent Award Winners

2018 The Mary Rose Trust
2019 STEM Crew (1851 Trust) supported by INEOS Team UK
2020 Schmidt Ocean Institute
2021 One Ocean Hub
2022 Into the Blue Podcast

The award has been presented annually since 2014.

The winner receives an optical crystal lighthouse trophy.

Please note: From 2023, prizes may differ due to changes to the Awards programme.