The Donald Gosling Award

The Donald Gosling Award for Best Audio-Visual Production

The Award is made to the director, producer, or other person responsible for making the film or television programme, released or broadcast in the United Kingdom during the qualifying period, that in the opinion of the Awards Committee has significantly influenced understanding of, or participation in, the maritime dimension.

They should demonstrate originality, fresh insights, authenticity and imagination in conception and delivery. Productions that link the past, present and future of the maritime dimension are especially encouraged.


Recent Award Winners

2018 Nick Maddocks and Andy Attenburrow
2019 Sean McGuire
2020 Chris Terrill
2021 Henrik Evertsson
2022 Alessandra Bonomolo and Tom Cook

The award has been presented annually since 2006.

The winner receives an optical crystal trophy.

Please note: From 2023, prizes may differ due to changes to the Awards programme.