The Maritime Fellowship Award

The Maritime Fellowship Award

The Award, for which the nomination is made by the Maritime Media Awards Committee, honours an individual who has made a truly outstanding contribution to stimulating public engagement in maritime issues in a manner that has a special or cumulative value and is not covered by the other Maritime Media Awards.

This contribution may have been made either through a lifetime of dedicated service or through a leading role in realising a particular project, such as, a major nautical festival, the consistently imaginative editing of a well-respected maritime publication or the development of a particular maritime sector.

The Maritime Fellowship Award

Judging criteria

A qualifying project must have had an impact at the national level, and engaged the public in a contemporary way in a maritime activity, or through a sea-related exhibition, spectacle or other event.

A lifetime achievement must include at least twenty years of dedicated endeavour in promoting maritime awareness through the media, or a similar period of outstanding service in the advancement of a particular sector of maritime industry or activity.

Vice Admiral Jerry Kyd CBE presents Julian Parker OBE with the Maritime Fellowship Award 2021 at the Maritime Media Awards 2020 and 2021 as the Maritime Foundation returned to London’s Drapers’ Hall on Friday, 27 May 2022 at a reception and lunch attended by a diverse representation of the maritime community and the past two years of the book, film, digital media, and journalism award winners.

Recent Award Winners

2016 Crispin Sadler
2017 Iain Ballantyne and John Murray
2018 Sir David Attenborough
2019 Sir Donald Gosling (posthumously)
2020 No award given (COVID-19)
2021 Julian Parker OBE

The prize is a hand-blown Athena crystal bowl with a detachable engraved silver base.

Please note: From 2022, prizes may differ due to changes to the Awards programme.