Skip to content

Maritime Media Awards 2020 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 25th annual Maritime Media Awards has been announced. Over 100 nominations were received this year for the four main awards honouring the best in journalism, literature, filmmaking and digital innovation promoting Britain’s interests across the maritime sector and raising public awareness of current maritime issues.

Richard Clayton, Chairman of the Awards Committee, said: “The pandemic has forced us to go virtual which opens new and innovative avenues to a wider audience.  It is encouraging to see the nominations increasingly reflect the key role that the maritime sector plays in a global Britain and innovation is the key to the future as Britain leaves the EU”

The winners of the Maritime Media Awards 2020 will be announced in a virtual ceremony at 19.00 on Thursday, 29 October 2020 and can be watched live via the Foundation’s YouTube channel.

The Maritime Media Awards 2020 Shortlist

The Desmond Wettern Award for Best Journalism

The Mountbatten Award for Best Book

  • David AbulafiaThe Boundless Sea: A Human History of The Oceans (Allen Lane)
  • Antony AdlerNeptune’s Laboratory: Fantasy, Fear, and Science at Sea (Harvard University Press)
  • John GoodladThe Cod Hunters (Shetland Amenity Trust)
  • Andrew Lambert – Seapower States (Yale University Press)
  • Evan Mawdsley – The War for the Seas: A Maritime History of World War II (Yale University Press)
  • Simon Parkin – A Game of Birds and Wolves: The Secret Game that Revolutionised the War (Sceptre Books)
  • Mark Redknap, Sian Rees and Alan Aberg – Wales and the Sea: 10,000 Years of Welsh Maritime History (Y Lolfa)
  • Alex Rogers – The Deep: Hidden Wonders of Our Oceans and How We Can Protect Them (Wildfire)
  • Margaret Schotte – Sailing School: Navigating Science and Skill, 1550–1800 (John Hopkins University Press)
  • Stephen Taylor – Sons of the Waves: The Common Seaman in the Heroic Age of Sail (Yale University Press)

The Donald Gosling Award for Best Television or Film Production

  • Nicola Bathurst
    Warship: Life at Sea, Artlab Films (Channel 5)
  • Luke Pavey
    Cornwall: This Fishing Life, Folk Films (BBC Two)
  • Tom Ranson
    Ocean Autopsy: The Secret Story of Our Seas, Pioneer Productions (BBC Four)
  • Alex Raw
    Saving Lives at Sea, Blast! By the Sea (BBC Two)
  • Stuart Rose
    Building the Ultimate Mega Cruise Ship, Windfall Films (Channel 5)
  • Aaron Schneider
    Greyhound, Sony Pictures (Apple TV)
  • Jonney Steven
    Impossible Engineering: Boka Vanguard, TwoFour Productions (Yesterday)
  • Chris Terrill
    Britain’s Biggest Warship: Goes to Sea, Uppercut Films (BBC Two)
  • Ian White
    Monster Ships, WAG TV (Yesterday)

The Babcock International First Sea Lord’s Award for Best Use of Digital Media

Other Awards to be announced include the Desmond Wettern Fleet Award which is presented annually to the HM ship, submarine, Naval Air Squadron or Royal Marine Unit that is judged to have made the best contribution to a positive image of the Royal Navy and the Maritime Fellowship Award for an individual who has made a truly outstanding contribution to stimulating public engagement in maritime issues.

You can view the online awards ceremony here

You can find the full list of nominations here

Notes to editors:

  • The Maritime Media Awards Dinner will be online on Thursday, 29 October 2020 at 19.00hrs.
  • The Maritime Foundation’s purpose is to promote Britain’s interests across the entire maritime sector and to inform and raise public and parliamentary awareness of the importance of Britain’s maritime industries, commerce and defence through education, training and research projects.
  • The Maritime Foundation established the Maritime Media Awards in 1995 in memory of Desmond Wettern, former naval correspondent of the Daily Telegraph.
  • Details of past winners can be found at

For further information about the Maritime Foundation please visit
For press enquires please contact