Maritime Media Awards goes virtual for 2020

The Maritime Foundation has today announced that this year’s annual Maritime Media Awards will go ahead on Thursday, 29 October 2020 in a virtual format.

The Awards’ ceremony hosted by Rear Admiral Dr Chris Parry will include a full presentation of the winners and runners-up in each of the awards categories with audience interaction through social media channels. The event can be joined through the Maritime Foundation website, YouTube and Twitter.

Richard Clayton, Chairman of the Awards Committee said: “It is sad we have had to change our plans for the annual Awards dinner this year because of Covid-19. The welfare of our guests and everyone involved in organising the event is paramount and we anticipate that by moving online we will still be able to recognise the greatest achievements of the year.”

The Maritime Media Awards honours the best in journalism, literature, film making and digital innovation which promote Britain’s interests across the maritime sector and generate awareness of current issues in sea trade, security and the marine environment. Nominations for this year have now closed and the shortlist will be announced early in October.

The Foundation now plans to hold the annual dinner at Drapers’ Hall in March next year at which this year’s winners will be presented with their awards and celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Maritime Media Awards. Details will be announced later in the year when circumstances permit.

Notes to editors:

  • The Maritime Media Awards Dinner will be broadcast via YouTube on Thursday, 29 October 2020 at 19.00hrs.
  • The Maritime Foundation’s purpose is to promote Britain’s interests across the entire maritime sector and to inform and raise public and parliamentary awareness of the importance of Britain’s maritime industries, commerce and defence through education, training and research projects.
  • The Maritime Foundation established the Maritime Media Awards in 1995 in memory of Desmond Wettern, former naval correspondent of the Daily Telegraph.
  • Details of past winners can be found at

Further information about the Maritime Foundation is available at