20 years promoting maritime awareness

The 2015 Maritime Media Awards are now open for nominations

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the Maritime Foundation’s work in informing public opinion and raising the profile of the maritime sector through its awards programme.

The aims of the awards are to encourage and recognise journalists, authors and programme makers who have had their work published or broadcast during the year and who have thereby contributed to the public understanding of maritime affairs.

Their achievement is celebrated at a prestigious awards dinner held at the Institute of Directors in London, this year on 12 November.

First Sea Lord Admiral Sir George Zambellas KCB DSC ADC DL said:

“The maritime environment is undiminished in its significance to us. We must therefore ensure that our national understanding of it is enhanced. That is why the Maritime Media Awards are important in helping to counteract ‘sea blindness’.”

Maritime Foundation chairman Julian Parker OBE commented:

“It is always a joy to see seafarers recognised for their creativity. In 20 years we have never ceased to be amazed at the impressive array of talent focused on portraying the importance of the sea and seafaring in our way of life which the awards serve to spotlight”.

Anyone may make a nomination for the 2015 Maritime Media Awards.

There are four categories:

The Desmond Wettern Award for best maritime journalistic contribution
The Mountbatten Award for best maritime literary contribution
The Donald Gosling Award for best maritime television or film contribution
The First Sea Lord’s Digital Media Award for best maritime digital media contribution

For more information and to nominate online please visit: https://www.maritimefoundation.uk/awards

Closing date for nominations is 31 July. The winners will be announced and prizes presented at the annual dinner at the Institute of Directors, London, on 12 November 2015.


Notes for editors

  • The Maritime Foundation is a charity promoting Britain’s interests across the entire maritime sector. Its purpose is to inform and raise public and parliamentary awareness of the importance of Britain’s maritime industries, commerce and defence through education, training and research, as well as through the Foundation’s annual Maritime Media Awards.
  • The Maritime Media Awards began in 1995. In memory of Desmond Wettern, former naval correspondent of the Daily Telegraph, the Maritime Foundation initiated the Desmond Wettern Media Award to give recognition to those journalists who do most to create public awareness of maritime matters. This initiative has since grown into a national event.
  • Across the decades there have been many notable and worthy achievers. An early recipient was renowned maritime journalist Michael Grey back in 1998. Captain Richard Woodman was honoured in 2011 for his landmark series of books charting A History of the British Merchant Navy. In 2013 Andrew Linington, Director of Campaigns & Communications at Nautilus International, received the Maritime Fellowship Award for ‘an outstanding contribution to stimulating public engagement in maritime issues’. Others to have been recognised include Michael Lloyd for his books Cruise Ship and Convoy, whilst Robin Paine and Roger Syms were commended for their book On a Cushion of Air – the Story of Hoverlloyd. Last year saw the introduction of a brand new category – the First Sea Lord’s Digital Media Award which was won by the Aircraft Carrier Alliance for its outstanding website.
  • Full details of the awards programme is available online at https://www.maritimefoundation.uk/awards/
  • Photos available upon request