Skip to content

Maritime Media Awards 2022 winners to be announced in May 2023

The Maritime Foundation is proud to announce the 27th annual Maritime Media Awards ceremony will take place at London’s Union Jack Club in May 2023.

The ceremony will announce the winners of the Desmond Wettern Award for Best Journalism, the Mountbatten Award for Best Book, the Donald Gosling Award for Best Television or Film Production, the Babcock International First Sea Lord’s Award for Best Use of Digital Media, and the Royal Navy will crown the winner of the Desmond Wettern Fleet Award.

The 27th annual Maritime Media Awards will be held on Monday, 22 May 2023. Tickets can now be purchased online, and for more information about the event, visit the Maritime Media Awards website or follow the Maritime Foundation on social media.

The Maritime Foundation will be hosting the in-person ceremony, celebrating those in the media who raise awareness and focus on the issues across all sectors of the maritime industries.

The ceremony will be presented by Rear-Admiral Dr Chris Parry CBE and will be preceded by a drinks reception and two-course hot buffet lunch. A networking opportunity will immediately follow.

The Maritime Foundation is aiming to improve the inclusivity and accessibility of the Awards to best suit the industry of today and the future and will be announcing exciting changes to the Maritime Media Awards for 2024.

Richard Clayton, Chairman of the Maritime Media Awards Committee, said: “The Maritime Foundation is looking forward to announcing the 2022 winners and presenting our vision for the future of the Foundation and the Maritime Media Awards”

About the Maritime Foundation:

The Maritime Foundation promotes awareness of the UK’s dependence upon the sea and seafarers and champions the UK’s interests across the entire maritime sector at home and abroad.

About the Maritime Media Awards:

Launched in 1995, the Maritime Media Awards honour journalists, authors, filmmakers, digital creators and others whose work in the media has served to create a greater public understanding of maritime issues, and of the UK’s dependence upon the sea.

Social media:

Twitter: @MaritimeFounUK
Hashtags: #MaritimeMediaAwards2022 #MaritimeMediaAwards

Notes to editors:

  • The Maritime Media Awards 2022 will take place at the Union Jack Club, Sandell St, Waterloo, London SE1 8UJ on Monday, 22 May 2023 at 12:00pm.
  • The Maritime Foundation’s purpose is to promote Britain’s interests across the entire maritime sector and to inform and raise public and parliamentary awareness of the importance of Britain’s maritime industries, commerce and defence through education, training and research projects.
  • The Maritime Foundation established the Maritime Media Awards in 1995 in memory of Desmond Wettern, former naval correspondent of the Daily Telegraph.
  • Details of past winners can be found at

Further information about the Maritime Foundation is available at

For press enquiries please contact