Skip to content

Maritime Media Awards 2022 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 27th annual Maritime Media Awards has been announced ahead of the Maritime Media Awards ceremony at London’s Union Jack Club on Monday, 22 May 2023.

The ceremony will be presented by Rear-Admiral Dr Chris Parry CBE and will be preceded by a drinks reception and two-course hot buffet lunch. A networking opportunity will immediately follow. Tickets can now be purchased online.

Richard Clayton, Chairman of the Awards Committee, said: “This year’s shortlist showcases once again the incredible diversity in the UK’s maritime culture and the Maritime Foundation is looking forward to shining a spotlight on the individuals and organisations who show excellence, accuracy and ambition in maritime journalism, literature, filmmaking and digital innovation.”

The Maritime Media Awards 2022 Shortlist

The Desmond Wettern Award for Best Journalism

The Mountbatten Award for Best Book

  • Matthew Campbell and Kit Chellel – Dead in the Water: Murder and Fraud in the World’s Most Secretive Industry (Atlantic Books)
  • Nick Collins – How Maritime Trade and the Indian Subcontinent Shaped the World: Ice Age to Mid-Eighth Century (Pen and Sword)
  • Saul David – SBS: Silent Warriors – The Authorised Wartime History (William Collins)
  • Richard Endsor – The Master Shipwright’s Secrets: How Charles II built the Restoration Navy (Osprey Publishing)
  • Felipe Fernández-Armesto – Straits: Beyond the Myth of Magellan (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • Julia Jones – Uncommon Courage: The Yachtsmen Volunteers of World War II (Adlard Coles)
  • Michael North – A World History of the Seas: From Harbour to Horizon (Bloomsbury Academic)
  • Alysha Rooks – The Black Joke: The True Story of One British Ship’s Battle Against the Slave Trade (Icon Books)
  • Guy Standing – The Blue Commons: Rescuing the Economy of the Sea (Pelican Books)
  • Matthew Wright – The Battlecruiser New Zealand: A Gift to Empire (Seaforth Publishing)

The Donald Gosling Award for Best Television or Film Production

  • Alessandra Bonomolo & Tom Cook
    Why Ships Crash
    Windfall Films (BBC Two)
  • David Gilbert
    Bismarck: 24 Hours to Doom
    Screen Story (Channel 4)
  • Craig Hunter, Rosy Marshall-McCrae, Russ Leven & Heather McCorriston
    What Killed the Whale?
    STV Studios (Channel 4)
  • Ross Kemp & Ed Taylor
    Ross Kemp: Shipwreck Treasure Hunter
    Honey Bee & Freshwater Films (Sky History)
  • Mel Mackie
    Commando: Britain’s Ocean Warriors
    Seadog Productions (BBC Two)
  • Bob Marsden
    Lighthouses: Building the Impossible
    October Films (Channel 5)

The Babcock International First Sea Lord’s Award for Best Use of Digital Media

Winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony on Monday, 22 May 2023 at the Union Jack Club. The Desmond Wettern Fleet Award presented annually will also be presented to the HM ship, submarine, Naval Air Squadron or Royal Marine Unit that is judged to have made the best contribution to a positive image of the Royal Navy.

About the Maritime Foundation:

The Maritime Foundation promotes awareness of the UK’s dependence upon the sea and seafarers and champions the UK’s interests across the entire maritime sector at home and abroad.

About the Maritime Media Awards:

Launched in 1995, the Maritime Media Awards honour journalists, authors, filmmakers, digital creators and others whose work in the media has served to create a greater public understanding of maritime issues, and of the UK’s dependence upon the sea.

Social media:

Twitter: @MaritimeFounUK
Hashtags: #MaritimeMediaAwards2022 #MaritimeMediaAwards

Notes to editors:

  • The Maritime Media Awards 2022 will take place at the Union Jack Club, Sandell St, Waterloo, London SE1 8UJ on Monday, 22 May 2023 at 12:00pm.
  • The Maritime Foundation’s purpose is to promote Britain’s interests across the entire maritime sector and to inform and raise public and parliamentary awareness of the importance of Britain’s maritime industries, commerce and defence through education, training and research projects.
  • The Maritime Foundation established the Maritime Media Awards in 1995 in memory of Desmond Wettern, former naval correspondent of the Daily Telegraph.
  • Details of past winners can be found at

Further information about the Maritime Foundation is available at

For press enquiries please contact