Awards Nominations

Full List of Nominations for the Maritime Media Awards 2018

The Awards Committee very much welcomes the part played by the public in bringing attention to deserving work across the range of media the Awards represent.

Published: 25 September 2018
Last updated: 17 October 2018

The Desmond Wettern Award for Best Journalism

Sam Chambers
Editorial Director, Splash 247

Christopher Cope
Political Correspondent, Warship World

Deborah Haynes
Defence Editor, The Times

Sam Llewellyn
Editor, The Marine Quarterly

Paul Ridgway
Correspondent, Seagull

John Roberts
Editor, Scuttlebutt

The Mountbatten Award for Best Book

Doaa Abdel-MotaalAntarctica: The Battle for the Seventh Continent (Praeger)
Tami Oldham AshcraftAdrift: A True Story of Love, Loss and Survival at Sea (William Collins)
Naomi AustinThe Call of the Sea: A Visual Timeline of Sunderland's Shipbuilding History Through to the Tall Ships Race of 2018 (Consilience Media)
Iain BallantyneThe Deadly Trade: The Complete History of Submarine Warfare From Archimedes to the Present (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
Mike BenderA New History of Yachting (Boydell Press)
Sally BerridgeThe Epic Voyages of Maud Berridge: The Seafaring Diaries of a Victorian Lady (Adlard Coles Nautical)
Kathy Brogan, Russ Bagley, John BarkerIf Hovercraft Can Go Anywhere, How Did We End Up Here? (Shivering Sheep)
Steven Price BrownRiddle of the Waves (Adlard Coles)
Steve BushThe Fotoflite Files, Volume 1: Royal Navy Warships (NavyBooks)
Horatio ClareIcebreaker: A Voyage Far North (Chatto & Windus)
Nic ComptonOff the Deep End: A History of Madness at Sea (Adlard Coles)
Caspar CravenWhere the Magic Happens: How a Young Family Changed Their Lives and Sailed Around the World (Adlard Coles)
Kaci CronkhiteFinding Pax: One Woman's Journey for the Love of her Wooden Boat (Adlard Coles)
Anthony CummingIn Action with Destroyers 1939–1945: The Wartime Memoirs of Commander J A J Dennis DSC RN (Pen & Sword Maritime)
J. David DaviesKings of the Sea: Charles II, James II and the Royal Navy (Seaforth Publishing)
Steve DunnBayly's War: The Battle for the Western Approaches in the First World War (Seaforth Publishing)
Bernard EdwardsChurchill's Thin Grey Line: British Merchant Ships at War 1939–1945 (Pen & Sword Maritime)
Barry GoughChurchill and Fisher: Titans at the Admiralty (Seaforth Publishing)
Dik Gregory and Paul ShanahanBeing Human in Safety-Critical Organisations: How People Create Safety, What Stops Them and What to Do About It (TSO)
David HobbsThe Royal Navy's Air Service in the Great War (Seaforth Publishing)
Gillian HutchinsonSir John Franklin's Erebus and Terror Expedition: Lost and Found (Adlard Coles)
Sam JeffersonThe Sea Devil: The Adventures of Count Felix von Luckner, the Last Raider under Sail (Osprey Publishing)
Sarah KinkelDisciplining the Empire: Politics, Governance, and the Rise of the British Navy (Harvard University Press)
Rod MacdonaldDive Scapa Flow (Whittles Publishing)
Martin MaceThe Royal Navy at Dunkirk: Commanding Officers’ Accounts of British Warships in Action During Operation Dynamo (Frontline Books)
John McWilliamsBritish Motor Fishing Vessels (Amberley Publishing)
David MearnsThe Shipwreck Hunter: A Lifetime of Extraordinary Deep-Sea Discoveries (Allen & Unwin)
Jonathan NorthNelson at Naples: Revolution and Retribution in 1799 (Amberley Publishing)
Nicholas RankinDefending the Rock: How Gibraltar Defeated Hitler (Faber & Faber)
Samuel RobinsonOcean Science and the British Cold War State (Palgrave Macmillan)
Rachel SladeInto the Raging Sea: Thirty-Three Mariners, One Megastorm, and the Sinking of El Faro (Ecco Press)
Robert C SternThe Battleship Holiday: The Naval Treaties and Capital Ship Design (Seaforth Publishing)
Eric ThompsonOn Her Majesty's Nuclear Service (Casemate Publishers)
Adam WeymouthKings of the Yukon: An Alaskan River Journey (Particular Books)
Rif Winfield and Stephen S RobertsFrench Warships in the Age of Sail 1626–1786 (Seaforth Publishing)

The Donald Gosling Award for Best Television or Film Production

Rachael Barnes
Saving Lives at Sea
Blast! Films (BBC Two)

Stephanie DeGroote
Sky Ocean Rescue: Dirty Business
Sky News (Sky Atlantic)

Baltasar Kormákur
STX Entertainment (Box office, Blu-ray, DVD and Digital HD)

Ben Laidlow
Dispatches: Secrets of Your Cruise
ITN Productions (Channel 4)

Nick Maddocks and Andy Attenburrow
Hull's Headscarf Heroes
Testimony Films (BBC Four)

Giles Martin-Raget
Les Voiles de St Tropez
GMR+G1 (France)

Andy Richards
Britain Afloat
BBC English Regions (BBC One)

Rebecca Ricks
Fish Wars
Forces TV (Forces TV)

Will Rowson
The Channel: The World’s Busiest Waterway
Blast! Films (Channel 4)

Crispin Sadler
Drain the Sunken Pirate City
Mallinson Sadler Productions (National Geographic)

Chris Terrill
Britain's Biggest Warship
Uppercut Films / STV Productions (BBC Two)

The First Sea Lord’s Award for Best Use of Digital Media


Global Fishing Watch

Great British Oceans

Maritime Journal

Project Natick

Nautilus – What Have Seafarers Ever Done for Us?

The European Marine Energy Centre (EMEC)

The Great Plastic Pickup (Daily Mail)

The Lifeboat Station Project

The Mary Rose

The Royal Society: Future Ocean Resources

Terms and conditions

The Awards Committee has absolute discretion to refuse any nomination that does not in its opinion meet the eligibility criteria and reserves the right to reassign nominations to a category it believes is most suited to the information provided in the nomination.

The Judges' decision is final and no communication will be entered into regarding any decisions made.

The winners of the Maritime Media Awards 2018 will be announced at Drapers’ Hall in the City of London on Wednesday, 31 October 2018.

Photographs of the winners will be published on the Maritime Foundation website.